Stitch Shibori

During the week I spent sometime preparing shibori stitching ready for the new lesson with Glennis on stitch shibori. I wasn’t disappointed that Glennis posted the lesson up on Wednesday. Today I’m ready to dye! The dyes have already been mixed and stored in the refrigerator ready to be used. I was a bit anxious before I dipped the pieces in the dye. There was a lot of stitching going into each piece and if it didn’t turn out right then it would be wasted.

Apart from the online workshop with Glennis I also got myself a book Shibori by Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada.  With both the book and the workshop I was ready to start. I’ve chosen two basic patterns to begin with.

Here are the results of what I dyed this morning. The one on the left is call Karamatsu shibori dyed in indigo using Procion dye. Ideally I should have left both in the dye a bit longer, but I couldn’t wait to see the result. I only left it for 5-6 hours instead of overnight. On the right is Komasu shibori using marigold and brown. Both pieces measure 40″ x 7.5″. My next piece is going to be big enough for a scarf. I feel that it will be hard for me to cut into them for anything!

Please leave me a comment if you like what you see here!

This entry was posted in shibori. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stitch Shibori

  1. Jacky says:

    Nat !!!!! These are wonderful…you must show me how to achieved this next visit! I think that Shibori book is a MUST have. I will have to see if they can get another one in at ZZ for me…remind me next visit (I tend to get sidetracked once I get there…so many things I need).
    You are such a talent and an inspiration Nat.

    Jacky xox

  2. deanna7trees says:

    these are fantabulous. didn’t realize you had set up a special blog for shibori. good idea.

  3. Lis says:

    Such exciting results Nat, I’m not surprised you couldn’t wait overnight! I’ve just booked a woad dyeing workshop, only half a day but it’ll be a good introduction before I crack out my dyes from FoQ.

  4. Herm says:

    Nat, these are gorgeous, of course i love the one on the left because of the blue color, but the designs on the brown are just perfect, it helps to take time and not hurry things up! I have seen some on Glennis’ shibori website and yours are the best!!!!

  5. silkshibori says:

    Thank you all, I appreciate your words of encouragement. I work full time and in the evening I can’t work on a big project so stitching a Shibori piece is relaxing. I agree with Cheryl about the Shibori book. I didn’t open it until I started this class. It does’t have many patterns, but the ideas are there. I made up my own patterns. For the blue piece, I used a CD-ROM as a template, then drew a line across as a guide and placed the line on the folded edge. I then drew a line with a mechanical pencil and started stitching from the outside in. I stitched 8 rows on that piece.

    For the yellow/brown piece I made a square template from clear plastic, draw a diagonal line on the template, and placed the template on both edges of a folded piece of fabric.
    Without Glennis’ wonderful workshop I wouldn’t have been able to venture into this wonderful art of Shibori. I enjoy it very much, thank you Glennis – Hugs to all Nat

  6. Dot says:

    Goodness Nat! I am blown away by your results with Shibori. These are beautiful…

Leave a Reply

