Komasu Shibori Tutorial

I think I have mastered the Komasu Shibori technique.  I’ve got an ok from Glennis to make this simple tutorial to share with you. The Komasu Shibori looks beautiful after it is dyed. To my surprise it’s the simplest method to make.

I have been using silk kimono lining that I’m using for all my other projects. Sorry I don’t know what kind of silk it is.  I cut an 8″ x 14 1/2″ piece, fold it in half, lengthwise. Now you have a 4″ x 14 1/2″ piece.  You need a square template 3″ x 3″ I cut my template out of soft plastic from an old DVD case. You can use anything for it. Mark a line across from corner to corner with a permanent marker.

I like working on my quilting cutting mat. Place the diagonal line on your template on the fold a little bit away from the edge of the silk. Line up the template point to a line on the mat. Draw lightly the half square triangle with pencil. Do the same on the raw edges of the silk leaving a 3″ space from the last point to the next point (you can leave more space if you wish). Make more patterns until you get to the other end of the silk.

The drawn lines are now on the silk (see left photo). Starting from right to left stitch with running stitch along the line. Make sure to tie a large knot at the end of your thread.  When you finish, cut the thread leaving an 8″ tail. Complete the other motives until finished.

When completing all the stitching, drawn up the thread tightly (see above left photo). Using the same thread start binding from the base outward toward the point. The bigger the bit you leave unwraped at the points, the larger the area the dye can penetrate onto the cloth (see the above right photo).

The binding is now completed and you are ready to dye it. I used only one color for the cloth, but you can use more than one color if you wish. The cloth on the right was the original piece that I dyed using the same technique.

I hope my instructions are easy for you to follow. Leave me a comment if you are unclear about anything. Hope to see some of your pieces here soon.

This entry was posted in shibori, Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Komasu Shibori Tutorial

  1. deanna7trees says:

    i stitched one up before i read your tutorial so i’m not sure how it will turn out but i will definitely do another following these wonderful instructions.

  2. Gina Maxwell says:

    Thankyou. Very clear and helpful

  3. Robin says:

    My scarf turned out great thanks to your tutorial! I wet the scarf before putting it in the dye bath, and I rinsed it after dyeing, and then took the threads out while still wet. You can see my results here: http://robinfitzsimons365.tumblr.com/post/50127899595/day-243-shibori-silk-scarf-may-10-2013-shibori

  4. Linda says:

    Now I have to try it but your instructions have given me a lot of confidence!

  5. Natalie says:

    What type of dye did you use and how long did you allow it to penetrate before rinsing? I am very excited to find your tutorial! I’m hoping to use the procion dyes I have.

  6. Sanjana Jog says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for the wonderful instructions. Now I am motivated to try Shibori! What kind of thread do you use for the tieing?

  7. silkshibori says:

    Thanks Sanjana, I used strong non-cotton thread in white so it will show after the dyeing process is complete!

Leave a Reply

